Age is just a Social Construct + Birthday

I find it crazy that aging has received so much hate. We are bombarded with anti ageing propaganda Gwyneth Paltrow selling use anti ageing cream when it is just genetics. These €40 tubs filled with nothing that will smooth out your skin.

These advertising techniques have took something beautiful away and warped it into a deep insecurity for many. I am still young so birthdays are still fun and something to look forward. But once you pass the big 30 birthdays are no longer glamourised or celebrated they are dreaded by many.

Because ageing is villainize as it is seen as ugly and closer to death. But I love wrinkles they tell a story, I hope I am in the same mindset once I face ageing.

So it is my birthday eve, I should be doing homework and studying for my oral exam which is worth 40% or my grade but here I am. It is a big birthday finally a Dancing Queen Young And Sweet Only 17!!!!

Changing age is so crazy one second I am 16 the next 17. But I welcome this change with open arms. I feel like jumping from 16 to 17 isn’t a massive change but I will feel it. I think saying your 16 sounds so young which I absolutely love but 17 gives an air of maturity.

As this is a online journal I just want to recap my year being 16 and a lot happened. I was an APL at shield and we won silver. Had a sparingly good time realised I loved being a leader in a group and tacking control. I went to Angele’s birthday party which was awesome. We went out to town after our exams. I went to Clare for ELC. Then went to Cork for my scout camp those both were core memories. I went to Limerick for ELC and my cousins came over. Started 6th year. Went to Italy with school. Then to my first concert. Went to our Loch Dan camp. had my Little Shop of Horror Musical I was Audrey II. Went to the IYC and the NISC. Got my new bike. Helped out the Christmas Show at Church and read at the Carol Service,Went to Brussels with school. and our ham mocking trip yesterday.

Hope I am open for adventures for future 17 year old me!

Just Another Average Teenage Girl Trying To Get Through Lifexxxxxxxx

Author:

Hi and welcome! I'm just a teenage girl and I enjoy baking, running, rugby, scouts and spending time with my friends I was born and raised in Vanves, Paris France. I moved to Ireland in 2015.

Leave a comment